Academic Chairs focused on Open Education

Categorias: Sem categoria

Courtesy of Dr. Rory McGreal the list of UNESCO/ICDE/COL Chairs who work on the topic of Open Education.


  • Canada, Athabasca University (2010) Prof. Rory McGreal, Chair in OER
  • New Zeland, Otago Polytechnic, (2013) Dr. Wayne Mackintosh, Chair in OER
  • Spain, U de la Rioja (2013) Dr. Daniel Burgos, Chair on E-Learning
  • Spain, U. Carlos III de Madrid (2013), Prof. Carlos Delgado Kloos, Chair of Scalable Digital Education for All
  • Brazil, University of of Brasilia, (2018) Dr. Tel Amiel, Chair in Distance Education (previously UNESCO Chair in Open Education/Unicamp – 2014)
  • Slovenia, Jozef Stefan Institute (2014), Dr. Mitja Jermol, Chair in Open Technologies for OER and Open Learning
  • Netherlands, Open University Netherlands (2016) Dr. Marco Kalz, Chair in Open Education
  • Netherlands, Fontys University (2016) Netherlands Dr. Robert Schuwer, Chair in OER and their Adoption by Teachers, Learners and Institutions
  • Tunisia, University de Sousse(2016) Dr. Sana Harbi, Chair in OER
  • France, Univ. de Nantes (2016) Prof. Colin de la Higuera, Chair in Technologies for the Training of Teachers
  • Mexico, Tec de Monterrey (2016) Dr.Maria Soledad Ramirez Montoya, Chair Open Educational Movement for Latin America
  • South Africa, North-West University (2018) Dr. Jako Olivier, Chair in Multimodal Learning and Open Educational Resources
  • South Africa, University of Cape Town (2019) Dr. Cheryl Hodgkinson-Williams, Chair in Open Education and Social Justice

Commonwealth of Learning (COL)

  • OU Tanzania Prof. Tolly Mbwette
  • Otago Polytechnic, New Zealand Dr. Robin Day
  • UNISA – Prof. Mpine Makoe <[email protected]>


  • Prof. Martin Weller, Open University, UK
  • Prof. Tolly Mbwette, Pan-African University Council, Tanzania
  • Dr. Christian M. Stracke the Open University of Netherlands
  • Dr. Jane-Frances Obiageli Agbu, National Open University of Nigeria
  • Dr.Maria Soledad Ramirez Montoya Tec. de Monterrey, México*
  • Prof. Rory McGreal, Athabasca University, Canada*
  • Dr. Wayne Mackintosh, OER Foundation and Otago Polytechnic*
  • Dr. Daniel Burgos, Universidad Internacional de la Rioja (UNIR), Spain*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *